What are you doing in Bali?

Ganesha is ready for rain at The Yoga Barn, Ubud

Ganesha is ready for rain at The Yoga Barn, Ubud

I don´t know. What AM I doing in Bali?

I was hemming and hawwing over the lodge placement in South Africa for days. I couldn´t sleep and felt more stressed about it than I had felt about anything in a year. I avoid stress like it´s my job, so I sent a curt but polite email to the lodge explaining that I would not be joining them after all and hopped on the next flight to Hong Kong. Then to Bali. As you do.

So I am writing from Bali now. Spent a week near Seminyak basically flying around on the back of various scooters and working on getting rid of my safari guide tan. 4 days in Ubud attempting to center myself at The Yoga Barn. It was not the life-changing experience from Eat Pray Love as portrayed by Julia Roberts. I was expecting enlightenment and Javier Bardem, but instead it was more mild boredom with Cheech and Chong.

So in another few weeks I will fly on to Santiago Chile to make my fortune. Or not, as the case may be. At least hoping to ease the hemorrhaging of cash out of my bank account and keep the accounts ticking over so I can initiate phase 2: Central America.

Leave a comment